Junghans and the Hamburg American Clock Company (H.A.C)

A brief history -

and why has a Junghans J80 the marks of H.A.C.?

H.A.C.-Junghans-J80-Front1.png

H.A.C.; Junghans J80; Junghans 680.70; Front

Paul Landenberger, who was born in 1848 in Ebingen (Germany) and 1939 died in Schramberg (Germany), was employed from 1868 at Junghans than being responsible for the purchase and distribution of watches of American production.

In 1871 he was elevated to the technical director of the company Junghans and married a year later, the daughter of Erhard Junghans (he died in 1870) named Frida Junghans. Dissatisfied with the nonexistent chances to climb up the stairs in the company, Landsberger emerged in 1875 from Junghans and founded the company Landsberger & Lang and thus became a competitor for Junghans, especially since he still resided in Schramberg and he also still took many employees from his former company.

Forced by financial difficulties, he had to ask for a loan even at Junghans. After another, even legal disputes with Junghans finally a settlement was reached in 1883 and the original company Landsberger & Lang was converted into a corporation named "Hamburg-Amerikanische Uhrenfabrik (HAU)". Landsberger apparently had good relations with the company Deuerer & Kaufmann in Hamburg, that probably earlier sold its watches. Landsberger still remained in dispute with Junghans, whether for family reasons or because of disputes about markets is unclear.

In 1925 the number of employees of HAU was approximately 2,200 people. A key product of HAU were the ATO clocks whose license was acquired in 1929 by Haller & Benzing after their closure. Forced by the losses due to inflation in 1925 a community of interests between Junghans, the Vereinigte Freiburger Uhrenfabriken and the HAU founded in 1927. The plan to grow stronger economically was braked abruptly by a massive loss of equity of the companies involved. Finally Junghans took over the other two as the strongest company in 1930. Paul Landenberger became board member of Gebrüder Junghans AG. In 1939 the name "HAU" no longer performed.

HAU alarm clock Pfeilkreuz

HAU-Wecker-Pfeilkreuz-um-1924-LUX-Werk-Front.png

HAU alarm clock; Pfeilkreuz around 1924, LUX-movement; Front

HAU-Wecker-Pfeilkreuz-um-1924-LUX-Werk-seitlich.png

HAU alarm clock; Pfeilkreuz around 1924, LUX-movement

HAU-Wecker-Pfeilkreuz-um-1924-LUX-Werk-Rückseite-back.png

HAU alarm clock; Pfeilkreuz around 1924, LUX-movement; back

The HAU was mainly known for the production of alarm clocks, and small clocks for tables.

Just a short time (exactly how long is unclear) were transiently produced clocks that bore both names (Junghans and HAU).

Until about a year ago I was not known that the HAU (or H.A.C. = Hamburg American Clock Company; for the English market) not only produced clocks but also launched wrist watches.

To me a Junghans J97 (production 1940-1952) with 7 stones and lever movement was known. It was marked on the dial with the Arrow Cross, including H.A.C. and at 6 "FOREIGN". Also on the movements is in addition to the 8-pointed star and the "J" with "unghans" the well known "FOREIGN" visible.

In a later surfaced watch that the Junghans J80 or Junghans 680.70 harbored, I still thought at first to a Marriage, but after I had seen better pictures of this watch, it was clear that Junghans actually also built wrist watches with the HAU.

H.A.C.-Junghans-J80-Front1.png

H.A.C.; Junghans J80; Junghans 680.70; Front

H.A.C.-Junghans-J80-Werk-movement1.png

H.A.C.; Junghans J80; Junghans 680.70; movement

H.A.C.-Junghans-J80-Rückseite-back1.png

H.A.C.; Junghans J80; Junghans 680.70; back

Luckily a similar watch came over to me from England meanwhile...

Junghans und die Hamburg American Clock Company (H.A.C.)

Ein kurzer geschichtlicher Überblick –

und warum trägt eine H.A.C. gemarkte Uhr ein Junghans J80?

H.A.C.-Junghans-J80-Front1.png

H.A.C.; Junghans J80; Junghans 680.70; Front

Paul Landenberger, der 1848 in Ebingen geboren wurde und 1939 in Schramberg starb, war ab dem Jahr 1868 bei Junghans angestellt und verantwortlich für den Einkauf und Vertrieb der Uhren nach amerikanischem Produktionsverfahren.

1871 wurde er zum technischen Leiter der Firma Junghans erhoben und heiratete ein Jahr später die Tochter des 1870 verstorbenen Erhard Junghans namens Frida Junghans. Unzufrieden mit den nichtvorhandenen Aufstiegschancen, trat Landenberger 1875 aus der Firma aus und gründete die Firma Landenberger & Lang und wurde somit zu einem Konkurrenten für Junghans, zumal er weiterhin in Schramberg residierte und etliche Mitarbeiter aus seiner ehemaligen Firma mitnahm.

Durch finanzielle Schwierigkeiten gezwungen, musste er selbst bei Junghans um einen Kredit bitten. Nach weiteren, auch gerichtlichen Auseinandersetzungen mit Junghans wurde schließlich im Jahr 1883 ein Vergleich geschlossen und die ursprüngliche Firma Landenberger & Lang wurde in eine Aktiengesellschaft namens „Hamburg-Amerikanische Uhrenfabrik (HAU)“ gewandelt. Landenberger hatte scheinbar gute Beziehungen zur Hamburger Firma Deuerer & Kaufmann, die wohl bereits früher seine Uhren verkauften.
Mit Junghans blieb Landenberger auch weiterhin im Clinch, ob aus familiären Gründen oder wegen Streitigkeiten um Märkte, ist unklar.

Im Jahr 1925 betrug die Mitarbeiteranzahl der HAU ca. 2.200 Personen. Ein entscheidendes Produkt der HAU waren die ATO-Uhren, deren Lizenz 1929 von Haller & Benzing nach deren Schließung übernommen werden konnte.
Gezwungen durch die Verluste durch die Inflation im Jahr 1925 gründete sich 1927 eine Interessengemeinschaft zwischen Junghans, der Vereinigten Freiburger Uhrenfabriken und der HAU. Der Plan, durch diese Gemeinschaft wirtschaftlich zu erstarken wurde aber durch einen massiven Aktieneinbruch der beteiligten Firmen jäh gebremst. Schließlich übernahm Junghans als stärkste Firma, die beiden anderen im Jahr 1930. Paul Landenberger wurde Vorstandmitglied der Gebrüder Junghans AG. 1939 wurde der Name „HAU“ nicht mehr geführt.

HAU Wecker Pfeilkreuz

HAU-Wecker-Pfeilkreuz-um-1924-LUX-Werk-Front.png

HAU Wecker; Pfeilkreuz um 1924, LUX-Werk; Front

HAU-Wecker-Pfeilkreuz-um-1924-LUX-Werk-seitlich.png

HAU Wecker; Pfeilkreuz um 1924, LUX-Werk; seitlich

HAU-Wecker-Pfeilkreuz-um-1924-LUX-Werk-Rückseite-back.png

HAU Wecker; Pfeilkreuz um 1924, LUX-Werk; Rückseite; back

Die HAU war hauptsächlich bekannt für die Produktion von Weckern, Nippuhren und Großuhren.

Nur kurze Zeit (wie lange genau, ist unklar) wurden übergangsweise Uhren produziert, die beide Bezeichnungen trugen (Junghans und HAU).

Mir war bis vor ca. einem Jahr nicht bekannt, dass es neben Großuhren auch Armbanduhren von Junghans mit der Kennzeichnung der HAU (bzw. H.A.C. = Hamburg American Clock Company; für den englischen Markt) gab.

Bislang ist mir eine Junghans J97 (Produktion von 1940 – 1952) mit 7 Steinen und Steinankerwerk bekannt, auf dem Zifferblatt gezeichnet mit dem Pfeilkreuz, darunter H.A.C., bei der 6 „FOREIGN“. Auch auf dem Werk ist neben dem 8-zackigen Stern und dem „J“ mit „unghans“ das altbekannte „FOREIGN“ zu lesen.

Bei einer später aufgetauchten Uhr, die das Junghans J80 bzw. Junghans 680.70 beherbergte, dachte ich anfangs noch an eine Marriage, doch nachdem ich bessere Fotos dieser Uhr gesehen hatte, war deutlich, dass Junghans tatsächlich mit der HAU auch Armbanduhren baute.

H.A.C.-Junghans-J80-Front1.png

H.A.C.; Junghans J80; Junghans 680.70; Front

H.A.C.-Junghans-J80-Werk-movement1.png

H.A.C.; Junghans J80; Junghans 680.70; Werk; movement

H.A.C.-Junghans-J80-Rückseite-back1.png

H.A.C.; Junghans J80; Junghans 680.70; Rückseite; back

Inzwischen ist mir glücklicherweise aus England eine ebensolche Uhr zugelaufen…